Vegan availability.

Vegan options and the availability of these is something that has been bothering me for a while now. When I am instagramming on a morning I see wonderful products that I would love to try but when I look to see where they are from it’s either Australia or New Zealand, occasionally London. This is the same for places to eat out – which is the biggy for me. It would seem that the main vegan dish you can buy in a restaurant is salad and if you do manage to find somewhere that does something a bit fancier, it always seems to be bland and soggy. Why oh why is there nothing down the road?! Thank goodness for Holland and Barretts. I have been researching the vegan diet and I was reading an article that looked into whether people are vegans/vegetarians and it shows that although people are no longer vegan they would go back to a vegan diet. I definitely think that lack of variety has an effect. If you would like to have a read see http://spot.humaneresearch.org/content/how-many-former-vegetarians-are-there Whilst vegetarian dishes are a plenty vegan dishes are gold dust. HOWEVER I went to ASDA yesterday and was pleasantly surprised to find a load of Biona products!!! I treated myself to Organic flaxseed, spelt fusilli, kale chips, coconut palm sugar, coconut flour, organic coffee, flax seed oil and some organic sweet potato and buckwheat noodles. I hope this is a sign of good things to come!! I have not been as excited about anything for a while. Yesterday was a good day. I have decided this year to go to the Great Yorkshire Vegan festival in Leeds this year and I am excited already. I have been looking at some of the stalls that will be on (there are around 150) and now I can’t wait! I have roped my mum into coming with me though it didn’t take much persuading. Whilst she isn’t vegan her diet is mainly plant based. We both are really into our organic vegan products too so I’m sure we will be coming home with our arms full of fantastic products and no doubt adopted animals if my mum has any say. There is going to be an outdoor BBQ and music and lots of activities so it’s definitely going to be a fun day. They are also doing a winter festival so I will be attending that too. If you are interested in looking go to the link – http://www.yorkshireveganfestival.com/ If you have any recommendations for Vegan places in the Leeds area please let me know. Or even good websites! Much love Grace x

Leave a Reply

