Avocado Love

Avocado! What a wondrous fruit! It sounds weird to say, to me it’s similar to a tomato as I don’t view it as a fruit or a vegetable, more an amazing anomaly haha. I’m focusing on avocados today because I have started to love them more and more. They are so versatile and can be used in a number of dishes, even baking! I have only ever previously experienced avocados when I was younger in the form of guacamole when I was eating fajitas, and even then I used to think “urgh”, I know shame on me. Now however I add them to a number of different meals! Hooray!

The main thing I think about when I am eating avocados is the huge nutritional value they hold. The fact that they taste yummy is a bonus! One avocado contains the following; 2grams of protein, 17% of the RDA of vitamin C, 14% of the RDA of potassium, 10% ofย  the RDA of vitamin E, 13% of the RDA of vitamin B6, 14% of the RDA of vitamin B5, 26% of the RDA of vitamin K, 20% of folate All of this along with other minerals which are really important to maintaining a healthy bod. What more could you possibly want? If that doesn’t make you want to go out and buy a load now I don’t know what will. The availability of avocados for me is quite limited. If I want any I have to go to a Supermarket and buy a ready to eat or a single one which will ripen. I find that they are never top quality which is a shame however unfortunately England isn’t a particularly sunny place so I can’t grow my own tree ๐Ÿ˜ฆ If anyone knows of any good avocado shops in the Leeds area please let me know ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are new to avocados I would recommend starting with avocado on toast, and if you are experienced with avocados you probably already know how awesome avocado on toast is. The recipe literally could not be easier. Firstly, place whatever bread you like in the toaster. Secondly, cut open the avocado and add it on top of the toast once it is done. That’s it. You can add anything you want as an extra for example, I know a lot of people like to put black pepper on top, I personally like a bit of spice, like chilli powder. The good thing about avocado is that it is creamy like butter however it doesn’t melt into your bread. If this isn’t for you, try adding it to a smoothie I promise you won’t be disappointed. I think smoothies/juices deserve their own post so stay tuned!

Let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

Grace x

Leave a Reply

